ITV reveals Beowulf cast

Kieran Bew, William Hurt, and Joanne Whalley will head the cast of ITV’s epic warrior drama Beowulf.



Produced by ITV Studios, the series is described as a reimagining of one of literature’s greatest heroes – Beowulf.

Bew will play the lead, with Hurt as Hrothgar, and Whalley as Rheda.

The cast will also include Ed Speleers, David Ajala, Ian Puleston-Davies, Ellora Torchia, Gisli Orn Gardarsson, Susan Aderin, Kirsty Oswald, Laura Donnelly, Edward Hogg, Alex Price, Jack Rowan, and Itoya Osagiede.

In the first episode, Beowulf returns to Herot to pay his respects to the recently deceased Thane, Hrothgar – the man who raised him. But when Herot is attacked by the monster Grendl, Beowulf decides to hunt it down, winning the support of the community and the new female Thane.Created by James Dormer, Tim Haines, and Katie Newman, the 13-part series is set in the mythical Shieldlands, a place that is home to humans and fantastical creatures.

Writer Dormer executive produces with Haines and Newman. The producer is Stephen Smallwood.

Filming will begin later this month for transmission on ITV.